
Wear a helmet
Obey traffic signs and signals
Ride with traffic, never against traffic
Ride as far to the right as practicable
Use paved shoulders and bike lanes when available 
and always be on the lookout for road hazards or 
debris 
On narrow roads without bike lanes or shoulders, play 
it safe and ride single-file 
Ride no more than two abreast when traveling in a 
shared roadway lane; return to riding single-file if 
riding two abreast impedes the flow of traffic
Use hand signals to indicate what you intend to do
Wear bright clothing; when riding early in the morning 
or at night, use a headlight, taillight and reflectors 
Use caution when riding at sunrise and sunset; the 
bright sunlight can make bicyclists difficult to see
Make eye contact with drivers whenever possible; 
never assume motorists see you or that you have the 
right-of-way
Never catch a ride by holding on to or attaching your 
bicycle to another vehicle
Keep at least one hand on the handlebars at all times
Do not wear headphones - they block other sounds 
you need to hear
Always expect the unexpected; stay aware and remain 
focused on your surroundings - your safety and the 
safety of those around you is your first responsibility

Bike
Bike

In Texas, a bicyclist has the same rights and responsibilities 
as the driver of a motorized vehicle. Bicyclists, like 
motorists, can be ticketed or penalized for not obeying 
traffic laws.
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          Left Slow/Stop Right

Bicycle Program

Use Hand Signals

Use the proper hand signals for left or right turns and for 
slowing or stopping. When turning, you must signal continuously 
at least 100 feet before the turn, unless use of your hand is 
needed to control your bicycle.  

For more information on statewide bicycle resources, visit 
TxDOT’s website: www.txdot.gov | keyword search: bicycle safety

Night Riding Equipment

Lights and reflectors will help you see and be seen during 
night-time riding and times of poor visibility. Texas law states 
that if you are operating a bicycle at night you must have a 
lamp on the on the front of the bicycle that emits a white 
light that is visible at least 500 feet in front to you. The 
bicycle must also have either a rear red reflector or red light 
visible from at least 500 feet. 
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Remember a crash can happen at any time. Wear your helmet 
every time you ride. 

Make Sure Your Helmet Fits
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