
Texas Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) laws are designed 
to prevent teen crashes by giving new drivers the chance 
to gain experience and improve their driving skills over time 
in lower-risk environments. 

GRADUATED
DRIVER LICENSING

CRASHES ARE THE NUMBER ONE 
KILLER OF TEENS

PHASE 1 

PHASE 2

At least 15 years of age:

•	 Driver education course
•	 Learners license (drive with licensed driver age 21 or older) 
•	 30 hours supervised driving (ten of these at night)  

www.tdlr.texas.gov/driver/files/Texas%2030-Hour%20
Behind-the-Wheel%20Log.pdf

•	 Six-month waiting period after learners license is issued 
for practicing with experienced drivers age 21 or older 

•	 No wireless communication devices, hands-free or not
•	 Wear seatbelt, it’s the law

SPELL OUT THE RULES: The risks teens face in the driving 
environment are huge! Parents and guardians need to teach 
safe driving behaviors from the beginning. So before obtaining 
the provisional license is the time to develop a “Parent-Teen 
Driving Agreement” to outline expectations and set consequences 
if the expectations are not followed. For sample agreements, 
check with your insurance agency or view www.cdc.gov/
ParentsAreTheKey/agreement. 

At least 16 years of age (not issued until six months after 
learners license issued, so age varies) and until driver 
turns 18:

•	 Provisional license* (drive solo)
	 The GDL completion date is printed on license: 

“TRC545.424 applies until mm/dd/yy” 
•	 No driving between midnight and 5 a.m. after license 

is issued unless licensed driver 21 or older in front seat
•	 No more than one passenger under age 21 except 

for family members, unless licensed driver 21 or older 
in front seat

•	 No wireless communication devices, hands-free or not
•	 Wear seatbelt, it’s the law

*The license is still marked “provisional” until driver turns 18.
	 www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/teenDriver.htm
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