
Day  and  Night

Seat Belt Facts
•	Texas achieved a 91.93 percent statewide seat belt use rate	

in 2017. (TxDOT)

•	The “Click It or Ticket” initiative in Texas is estimated to	
have saved 5,473 lives, prevented more than 95,500 serious 
injuries, and saved more than $20.7 billion in related 
economic costs from 2002 to 2017. (NHTSA)

•	 In 2017, there were 2,558 Texas crashes in which 
unbuckled people sustained fatal or serious injuries. 
(TxDOT)

•	Last year, of all crashes in which people died, 57 
percent occurred at night (6 p.m. - 5:59 a.m.). (TxDOT)

• Wearing a seat belt reduces the risk of dying by 45 percent 
for people in the front seat of passenger cars. For those in 
pickups, seat belts reduce the risk of dying by 60 percent 
since pickups are more likely to roll over than passenger 
vehicles. (NHTSA)

Learn more at TexasClickItorTicket.com

Texas law requires the driver and all passengers in a vehicle to be secured by a seat belt. Unbuckled adult drivers 
and passengers, even those in the back seat, face fines and court costs of up to $200.

It’s the Law: Buckle Up Day and Night in Every Seat.

The annual Click It or Ticket Campaign  reminds Texans to buckle up day and night, and every time 
they get in a vehicle. Buckling up not only protects motorists against expensive citations, it also 
saves lives.

The Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT), National Highway Traffic Safety Administration 
(NHTSA), and the Texas Department of Public Safety (TxDPS) are again joining forces with police and 
sheriffs’ departments across Texas to save lives on Texas roads by working to increase seat belt use. 
From May 21 to June 3, law enforcement officers are stepping up their efforts to ticket anyone who isn’t 
wearing a seat belt.
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